Brave Baby was formed in 2012 when Keon Masters (vocals/guitar), Wolfgang Zimmerman (vocals/drums), and Christian Chidester (guitar/vocals) began playing with Jordan Hicks (bass) and Steven Walker (keys/percussion). The band spent most of 2012 writing and self-producing what would become the band’s debut album Forty Bells, released in early 2013 on Charleston indie label Hearts and Plugs. Production was lead by producer and drummer Wolfgang Zimmerman in the bands’ storage unit turned intimate practice/studio space in the Elliotborough neighborhood of Charleston, SC


Through his masterful flow and lyricism, magnetic stage presence, and profound grasp of history and social issues, Charleston, South Carolina’s Benjamin Starr is an artist both timeless, and perfectly poised for his time and place.

The buzz around Starr’s talent has been growing for years through his singles, EPs, mixtapes, and freestyle performances, leading to the release of his first LP in 2015 entitled Free Lunch. Charleston City Paper’s Kyle Peterson described the record as “a soul and R&B sample-infused effort that showcased the emcee’s formidable technical skills and keen political and social consciousness, music that harkens back to hip-hop titans Nas and Talib Kweli.”

With the depth, complexity, and raw talent demanded in an evolving cultural landscape, Benjamin Starr stands out as an undeniably powerful artistic force.

BT Press Shot.jpg


The alternative rock outfit, Beach Tiger, consists of Taylor McCleskey (vocals / guitar), Eric Mixon (bass), Blake Shorter (drums), and Zac Crocker (keys / backing vocals). The band is known for heavy, groove-based songs, catchy melodies, hazy synthesizers, and ethereal guitar effects. 

Although the group has only released three singles in their first year of existence, they have already garnered over 700,000 streams (on Spotify alone), and have been featured on four official Spotify playlists including: “New Music Friday” (July 1 - July 7)  and “Indie Pop!”; as well as Starbucks' “Sunny Afternoon”. 


Matadero formed in 2012,  featuring George Baerreis on bass, Ron Wiltrout on drums, Sam Sfirri on keys, and Lindsay Holler on vocals.  Matadero has been featured as a finalist for the 2016 Tiny Desk, featured in an SC Scene compilation and has shared the stage with J Roddy Walston & the Business, Wild Child, the Felice Brothers and more.